cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Help us improve the PTC Community by taking this short Community Survey! X

Trying to use a solve block to solve for multiple inputs simultaneously

ES_10230081
2-Guest

Trying to use a solve block to solve for multiple inputs simultaneously

Hi, I am a student that is new to Mathcad and am having a lot of trouble getting a solve block to calculate the value of 2 separate variables with an indexed input. If anyone has any knowledge on how to get mathcad to do this, it would be very appreciated. Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I would rather turn all calculations into functions of theta.2 and use the function to plot

Werner_E_1-1646614530328.png

I attach the worksheet. At the and I also show how you could create vectors of values in case you would prefer that.
You will note that in the second solve block I had to get rid of the unit "in" temporary using the function "UnitsOf" and had to add it later. The reason is that Mathcad won't allow to define a function which returns a vector with mixed dimensions (angle and length).

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

The error message a solve block throws most often are rather meaningless or misleading.

Right click the red theta6 and chose "Trace Error" and then "First". This brings up a more meaningful error message.

Werner_E_0-1646606925674.png

The reason for your solve block failing is the range for theta.2.

You should use ranges only to

.) index vectors/matrices

.) create a for-loop in a program

.) use it for the abscissa values in a 2D plot

I am not sure what you had in mind to do with that range. If the goal was to make the results of the solve block dependent on theta.2, you can turn the solve block into a function of theta.2

Werner_E_1-1646607510938.png

which you could use that way

Werner_E_2-1646607554785.png