cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Need help navigating or using the PTC Community? Contact the community team. X

Find the temperature at which the concentration is maximum

ML_10228582
2-Guest

Find the temperature at which the concentration is maximum

Hello! I'm new to MathCad and I'm having trouble solving a kinetics and reactor calculus problem.

I have to find the temperature at which the concentration of B reaches its maximum value. I did this by manually guessing values, but I was wondering if it's possible to do it in an easier way.
The constants k depend on the temperature. The concentration of A depends on the constants k. And finally, the concentration of B depends on the constants k and the concentration of A. The temperature I found was 306K. Would it be possible to synthesize all these calculations in a solve block? The following is the resolution and the way I was trying.

problem.png

problm2.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

4 REPLIES 4

Please attach your Prime sheet. Its way harder to debug a pic than a live worksheet.

I see no "B" nor any equation for the concentration of B in your pics.

Furthermore its irritation that your various k and A values are of different dimensions (units)

And then: Whats the reason for using a solve block to calculate the three C-values? It looks like you can define them directly via assignments.

> The concentration of A depends on the constants k. 

It looks like its the other way round. In your pics you first define A's (different units!?) and then k dependent on a (and temp).

As I see it you will have to make k.1,2,3 functions of T and also turn the solve block for C.A into a function of T.
Then you can turn C.B into a function of T and find its maximum.
Similar to what you tried in your second pic but it looks like here the calculation of C.A is missing.