cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get called away in the middle of writing a post? Don't worry you can find your unfinished post later in the Drafts section of your profile page. X

Unit Assistance

CS_10054396
3-Visitor

Unit Assistance

Hello,

I'm quite new to MathCAD and I'm having problems with a unit somewhere in this BCGA pressure drop calculation. The error is "This value has units: Length^2 . Time^-2, but must have units: Pressure^2.

There is one input in the formula that is unitless (Specific Gravity), I wondered if this was causing the issue.

Any help would be appreciated! Thanks

ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:CS_10054396)

I should guess that specific gravity needs units: weight per volume.

Essentially mathcad is telling you that your units aren't balanced.

You have P.drop, and P.inlet values that are pressures (Pa, n/m^2 or the like, bar in your case).

Now the large quotient under the root must have units of pressure squared (in order to be allowed to subtract it from P.inlet_N2 squared).

Copy that quotient outside of the root and evaluate it to see what unit Mathcad gives the result. Then you'll easily find what needs corrected.

There's also a magic number (32) in the expression. Does (should?) it have units?

Overlooking all, I see you (at least appear to) reference standards. Standards are a great source of formulae that lack physical basis: empirical formulae. Such formulae have a habit of requiring values with specific (implied) units, that will often not balance. If that is the case here, you should divide the implied units out in the expression, and add them later to the result.

Success!
Luc

View solution in original post

10 REPLIES 10
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III

I should guess that specific gravity needs units: weight per volume.