cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Your Friends List is a way to easily have access to the community members that you interact with the most! X

plotting a circle with triangle

ptc-5041319
1-Newbie

plotting a circle with triangle

Hello, i am studying master program at mechanical engineering. I am trying plot a circle using 3 points of a triangle. Circle must be plot inside triangle. How can i do?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

There is nothing wrong other than a bad choice of triangle. You can see by watching radius and x-coordinates that you have a very tiny circle which is relatively near to the z-axis. So the range for x and y is very small compared to that of z which goes from 0 to approx 200. As you have let Mathcad chose the scaling (autoscale for each axis is on) Mathcad squeezes the plot in the space which is available. That means that your spring looks like the profile square would be a line segment. I have chosen the range manually for x and y and zoomed in so you see that all is OK.

spiral4.png

Here is a neater looking triangle (based on the old file)

spiral3.png

View solution in original post

13 REPLIES 13

Emre HAs wrote:

Hello, i am studying master program at mechanical engineering. I am trying plot a circle using 3 points of a triangle. Circle must be plot inside triangle. How can i do?

If your goal is mainly the plotting part or numerical solution you would rather resort to a dynamical geometry program as e.g. the free and excellent GeoGebra which combines geometry and algebra in a nice way.