cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Have a PTC product question you need answered fast? Chances are someone has asked it before. Learn about the community search. X

Can ThingWorx Analytics be deployed on EMS and how?

sonali92jain
5-Regular Member

Can ThingWorx Analytics be deployed on EMS and how?

Hi All,

I am just starting out with ThingWorx edge connectivity. I want to know if it is possible to bring the Analytics and Mashup on the Edge side.

That is, even if the connectivity with the ThingWorx server breaks, the solution will still be able to perform analytics and host a dashboard on the edge side.

For reference, I am attaching a picture showcasing azure edge solution. I am trying to determine if something like this can be done via ThingWorx and how.

azure iot edge solution diagram.png

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

4 REPLIES 4

Hi @sonali92jain I don't think for your purpose EMS alone will be sufficient to serve Mashups to the client, since EMS is used for connecting to ThingWorx and if you only have one ThingWorx instance and if that goes down EMS will lose it's connectivity

I think what you are looking for would require ThingWorx setup in High Availability and for that you might want to review ThingWorx Deployment ArchitectureThingWorx High Availability

nsampat
17-Peridot
(To:supandey)

@sonali92jain

To add to Sushant's response, ThingWorx Analytics from version 8.1 onward is completely reliant on ThingWorx Foundation for Service Handling (APIs and Data upload) as well as the Analytics Builder Mashup.

If ThingWorx goes down, Analytics will not be able to be used.

sonali92jain
5-Regular Member
(To:nsampat)

@nsampat @supandey