cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

Thingworx Log to MsSQL database

leoRW
7-Bedrock

Thingworx Log to MsSQL database

Hi everyone, let me start by saying I am very new in Thingworx.

My goal is to use MsSQL database to log data coming in through Kepware (OPC).

I am trying to do so using a Value Stream, pointing locally to a thing which contains all the data I want to store, and a Persistence Provider that connects it to my database in MsSQL.

All the properties have the checkbox "logged" active, and Data Change Type is set to "Always".

The data is coming in fine, and I also verified connection to the database with an additional thing using the MSSqlServer template. This thing is configured exactly like the persistence provider (using JDBC driver and connection string) and I can successfully send queries to the database.

I do not get any error message in the diagnostic logs, nor configuration errors, but the properties I have configured in the Value Stream are not coming into the MsSQL tables (or no table is being created in the database).

Am I doing something entirely wrong? Or is there some other way to log the data as I am trying to?

Any help or tips is appreciated!

Leo

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
raluca_edu
17-Peridot
(To:leoRW)

Hi Leonardo,

Only Value Stream is  automatically logging values.

To aquire same behavior of the logging, you need to create a service, call GetPropertyValues inside, take the result , get the values and insert them into your database. This new service can be executed every time the property values change.

Best regards,

Raluca Edu

View solution in original post

17 REPLIES 17
raluca_edu
17-Peridot

Hi,

By default, Value Stream data is automatically saved in the database (Persistence Provider set when installing Thingworx).