cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Changing colour of model item when clicked

Axcend
4-Participant

Changing colour of model item when clicked

What is the code for changing the colour of model item ?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jmikesell
15-Moonstone
(To:Axcend)
4 REPLIES 4
jmikesell
15-Moonstone
(To:Axcend)

Axcend
4-Participant
(To:jmikesell)

Thank you.

The code that i was looking for was

$scope.view.wdg['modelItem-1'].color = 'rgba(255,0,0, 1.0)';

Could you please provide a more detailed explanation on how to achieved a color change when clicking a model item?

I have tried entering the code both in the home.js and under the 'click JS'  but this does not work. Unfortunately I have no real coding experience. 

many thanks. 

I figured it out but in case anyone else needs a clearer explanation I've outlined it below. This script will allow the user to change the colour of a part by clicking on the component. 

1) Drag and drop a 'model item' widget onto the part you wish to change the colour of, and take note of the Studio ID (In my case this is 'modelItem-2').

2) Under the current 'view' in the project panel you will have a <name of view>.js. Open this and enter the following code. 

$scope.color1 = function(val) { 
	$scope.view.wdg['modelItem-2'].color = 'rgba(0,255,0, 1)'}

In my basic understanding this will create a function called 'color1' that, when called will assign the colour to 'modelItem-2' (you may need to rename this to what ever your model item 'Studio ID' was). The colour is in RGBA (Red, Green, Blue, Alpha - Alpha being the transparency from 0-1)format, in this case 0,255,0,1