cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

We are happy to announce the new Windchill Customization board! Learn more.

Extracting (Transaction) Data for Process Mining

cscheiber
5-Regular Member

Extracting (Transaction) Data for Process Mining

Hello,

I'm new to PTC Windchill and I want to extract different sorts of data from PTC Windchill to use it for Process Mining with a third-party software. Therefore I'd (preferably) need the data as .csv or .xlsx files.
(However xml or something similar would also do it.)

Firstly I want to extract transaction data of a product concerning a change process:

For example:

• Creation date of a problem report
  • Further transaction data depending on the change worklfow...

Secondly I also want to extract meta-data of products and further master data.

I've searched the documentation and the community and for my understanding there are a few different ways to receive this kind of data. However I've stumbled across some problems with theses ways. Furthermore I'm not sure what the best practice to do so would be:

1. Reports
    • Problem: How do I identify which tables (types) I have to use for the report and how are they related?
  2. SQL - Queries
    • Same problem as with reports, which tables contain the information I need and what is their relationship
  3. Import/Export Manager
    • Problem: Very little documentation, can't really get started. 
  4. ERP Connector/ESI
    • Problem: Can I use this approach to extract data to csv (or similar) files or would you need an ERP System to connect to?

I'd be really glad If somebody could help me with this or could provide additional material.

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9

If you want to extract data from the Windchill DB, one of the methods you can use is the report builder.

If you take a look at this document, you can find:

- some documentation on how to use the tool