cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

How to convert .prt files to .stp?

CyrilGravelle
1-Newbie

How to convert .prt files to .stp?

Hi everybody

I'm a french student and I use Pro Engineer Wildfire 4.0 with a student license for a CAD project.

I would like to save my .prt files in step 3D, but i can't choose this file extension when I save my project ...

Does anyone have a solution ? Is there an extension available to perform that ?

I browsed the internet but found nothing.

Thanks for your help

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

The Interface for STEP option was missing in some old Pro/ENGINEER Wildfire Student and School Editions.

This option, and corresponding command, should be now available in recent Creo Parametric editions.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

Select: File, Save a Copy

Then select which type/format you want to save the file in (STEP, IGES, and much more).

That should do it.

Hello timothy, thanks for your answer

When I click on "save a copy", there are many extensions available but not .stp

I made a screenshot so that you can see what I mean :

http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=309347proe.jpg

The reason might be the student edition ?

Again, thanks for your help