cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you know you can set a signature that will be added to all your posts? Set it here! X

Help needed in building if statement

ChrisRae
1-Newbie

Help needed in building if statement

I'm a complete newbie to Mathcad, so please excuse my rather basic question. I'd like to use an if statment to evaluate the values in a vector.
5b36ae19f9
I'm expecting the output, (1,0), but the if statement won't accept a non-scalar value next to the operator (input). I can do the operation on each value in the input vector separately, like this...
5b36ae19f9
and
5b36ae19f9
but the if statement can't be vectorised with my attempts. Any help would be appreciated...
4 REPLIES 4
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ChrisRae)

You need to use a for loop in the program to loop through the elements of the vector. However, there is a much easier way. Just type test:input<25 test will then be the desired vector. Richard

Thanks for the quick reply, the example I gave was rather oversimplified, so I'm looking at for loops now... So I've got...
0812ea038d
but this appears to only yield the last of the loop's results, so output = 0 and not (1,0) how do I put each of the loop results into the appropriate location in the output vector? Thanks again for helping me with what's probably a stupidly simple question.
RichardJ
19-Tanzanite
(To:ChrisRae)