cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Ideal Gas Equation

OscarJ.
1-Newbie

Ideal Gas Equation

Good morning,

Right now I am working in a small project (just for curiosity, not work related at this stage), and my purpose is to get the final pressure of gas, based on the time elapsed. I have been working with MathCad for several years, but I am not comfortable dealing with differential models. Instead, I always use some numerical methods and/or matrices to get an approx. solution. This time however, I really would like to use the "Odesolver" fuction. so I am using the ideal gas equation (P*Vmol=R*Temp),the initial volume and the temperature,to evaluate the pressure and the pressure profile after 10 sec.

I defined the two functions (Pressure based on molar vol, and molar vol based on initial volume and time), and now I am trying to put them together to get and expression, but I was not able to do it right. Any comment / suggestion at this point would be really appreciated.

I have already finished the mathcad worksheet using a matrix and dt=0.001 sec, but if possible I would like to use the odesolver for this project.

Attached you can find the few lines with the issue.

Additional Question: Does Odesolver support units?

Thanks a lot,

Oscar J.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Without really trying to understand what you're modeling, I have restructured the problem to solve.

Mathcad 15 will not manage units in Odesolve.

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6

The initial condition is not given for the function you want to solve (P.ideal != P)

You have a function dependent on V.mol and Temp but you attempt to do the drivative wrt t!?

Additional Question: Does Odesolver support units?

In MC 15, no