cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about the Community Ranking System, a fun gamification element of the PTC Community. X

Optimization problem using minimize function

Murarz
13-Aquamarine

Optimization problem using minimize function

Hello everyone!

This is my first post, I'm glad to be here. Let's cut to the chase. 

I have created  an objective function  which has 5 variables. I gave 5 constraints. Probably a typical problem. But when i try to optimize it with the minimize function mathcad spent all night calculating it and it did not come up with anything. I am new to this, so probably missing the point 🙂 I will be thankful for any piece of advice.opt.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:Murarz)

OK, as promised here is my speeded up version.

Hope the my first interpretation of the function Y is the one you need - otherwise we would have to invest some more work to make the solve block respect ALL constraints (if possible at all).

I also include a pdf-print of the sheet.

As you see your original Y-function evaluates in about 12 seconds. The 51 sec of what I wrote earlier came about the fact that my machine was busy with some video recoding which eat up nearly all my CPU power 😉

So your reduction from 583 points to somewhat over 400 seems not to be necessary at all.

Note that because of the various use of the time() function the sheet will recalculate every time before printing or saving which is annoying. You might want to get rid of tall the unnecessary regions as soon as possible.

View solution in original post

22 REPLIES 22

Attach please Mathcad-sheet!

Ans second!

Call please your objective function OF after the giving guess values of aa, ab etc!

Use please the Minimize function without constrains and than in put constrains step-by-step!

Good luck!

Murarz
13-Aquamarine
(To:ValeryOchkov)