cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

Partial Differential equation help

ptc-5373727
1-Newbie

Partial Differential equation help

Hi,

I am new to solving PDEs in mathcad. I was wondering if someone could take a look at my file and tell me where I am going wrong. This is a 1-D heat transfer PDE, and I looked online to see what I was doing wrong. But it seems that the other people's examples are also not opening on my computer. Here's the file

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Thats strange, I get the same error if I open my attachment but not if I open if from my HD. The problem is easily corrected by simply letting the sheet recalculate (Ctrl-F9).

For whatever its worth I resaved the file and attach it here,

In any case you should see something like this:

Problem_2.png

View solution in original post

24 REPLIES 24

OK, a lot of errors, so lets begin:

1) Your functions and derivatives in the solve block are missing the arguments (T.x --> T.x(x,t))

2) In the last two BC you have a multiplication dot between the function name (T.x) and the parameter parenthesis

3) the call of Pdesolve is completely wrong. Look it up in the help! The boundaries have to be given as a 2-element vector, separated (as every other parameter, too) from the variable name by a comma.

4) The result of Pdesolve is a function in two parameters itself. You must assign it a simple function name only (without the parameters)

You may be interested in this thread, too: http://communities.ptc.com/message/210873#210873

Werner,