cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Did you get an answer that solved your problem? Please mark it as an Accepted Solution so others with the same problem can find the answer easily. X

Referencing worksheets

ptc-3134225
1-Newbie

Referencing worksheets

Hello all,

I am pretty new to Mathcad and still in learning stage. I have two seperate mathcad files created by different people. I need to cross refer variables from one file to another. I tried to use "Reference" option available under Insert. But since the files where created by different people, there are few common variable names in these two files so they are overwritten. Is there an option in Mathcad where we can send and receive just few variables from other mathcad file??

Thanks in advance

Deepak

8 REPLIES 8
Werner_E
25-Diamond I
(To:ptc-3134225)

Deepak Somasundaram wrote:

Hello all,

I am pretty new to Mathcad and still in learning stage. I have two seperate mathcad files created by different people. I need to cross refer variables from one file to another. I tried to use "Reference" option available under Insert. But since the files where created by different people, there are few common variable names in these two files so they are overwritten. Is there an option in Mathcad where we can send and receive just few variables from other mathcad file??

Unfortunately, no. A reference acts as if the whole content of the referenced worksheet is copied into the current sheet. So the last definition of a variable "wins".

StuartBruff
23-Emerald III
(To:Werner_E)

One possibility is to add some new variables in between the References to store the values that have duplicate names.

Another possibility, if there are only a few variables, is to write the data to files and then read them back into your worksheet.

Stuart