cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can subscribe to a forum, label or individual post and receive email notifications when someone posts a new topic or reply. Learn more! X

Using minimize for a function which depends on parameters

fkcom
6-Contributor

Using minimize for a function which depends on parameters

Dear helpers,

I am quite new to Mathcad and have the following question using the minimize optimization in Mathcad15.

I would like to calculate the maximum of deformation of a loaded plate (=minumum of plate equation). Therefor I use a plate equation w(x,y) with several parameters (force and force location (x and y)) for several time steps by adding an Excel component. (Each time step has a set of these three parameters.)

I was able to calculate the minimum for each of these steps seperate but my goal is to use the minimize optimization for w(x,y) dependent on the parameters so that the solution is a vector consisting of the several minimums for each parameter set. 

I appreciate any kind of help.

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Werner_E
24-Ruby V
(To:fkcom)

I am sorry, but I have to tell you, that the results you get for a single set of values is wrong.

You ran into a common trap when dealing with vectors.

Short explanation what went wrong: you define a function w(x,y) which uses a couple of vectors (the forces).