cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Stay updated on what is happening on the PTC Community by subscribing to PTC Community Announcements. X

Problem with coding.

mzarrabi
12-Amethyst

Problem with coding.

Hi everybody,

I am new in coding with the Mathcad. I am trying to code a model related to civil engineering (geotechnical engineering), but I have faced several problems. I think the problem is not that much hard, but I couldn't solve it. I wonder If somebody could take a look at it and give me some hints about that. I have attached my file as well as the picture of what I am trying to code.

Thanks in advance.

10 REPLIES 10
LucMeekes
23-Emerald III
(To:mzarrabi)

You're using a variable eta with a subscript i-1. This means that eta must be defined AND must be an array.

Well eta is defined, and is an array PROVIDED that the if-statement (at the top of above picture) is true. Apparently that is not (always) the case.

Either make sure that the if-statement is executed, or provide some other way of generating the eta array, or find a way to execute the 'otherwise' without needing the eta array.

Success!

Luc

-MFra-
21-Topaz II

Hi,

problem with coding.jpg

mzarrabi
12-Amethyst
(To:-MFra-)

Thank you LucMeekes‌ and F.M.‌,

It was great. I modified my code a little bit, and I faced another problem. It says: " Found a number with a magnitude greater than 10^307 while trying to evaluate this expression." How can I deal with that?

H Problem.PNG

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III

You're raising e to the power n.d times psi. either n.d or psi, or their product is too big.

Success!

Luc

-MFra-
21-Topaz II

Dafalias.jpg

mzarrabi
12-Amethyst

So, what should do to avoid such a situation.

LucMeekes
23-Emerald III

Find out why such values result.

By examing the model and/or your program.

Success!
Luc

-MFra-
21-Topaz II

complex values source.jpg