cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - New to the community? Learn how to post a question and get help from PTC and industry experts! X

Creo network install -server only

dgallup
4-Participant

Creo network install -server only

We are running WF4, have no intention of using WF5 or Creo 1. No PDM. I'm going to try installing Creo 2 as soon as PTC has shippable media.

I'm a mechanical engineer and because I was the first Pro/E user I've always had to administer the CAD system despite never having a day of training. So I try to keep everything simple and avoid writing code like the plague. I see David Haigh's startup script, don't understand a line in it.

Up till now I have always done an install on the server and just put a shortcut on the users desktops. This makes Pro/E dead simple to administer as the config files only live in one place. I was told not to do this with Creo but was not given any reason why. I would like to continue with this approach, the only drawback I've ever seen was a slighty longer startup time which seems insignificant to me. Has anyone tried it with Creo?

PTC quality philosophy: We've upped our quality standards. Up yours.

This thread is inactive and closed by the PTC Community Management Team. If you would like to provide a reply and re-open this thread, please notify the moderator and reference the thread. You may also use "Start a topic" button to ask a new question. Please be sure to include what version of the PTC product you are using so another community member knowledgeable about your version may be able to assist.
1 REPLY 1

David,
Whoever told you that Creo Parametric can't be installed on the server doesn't know what they are talking about. I have it installed in a test environment that way with no problems. Perhaps they are confusing Parametric with Elements Direct, that does have to be installed locally.