Skip to main content
1-Visitor
January 25, 2018
Solved

Issue with the inequality symbol

I created an if function for one of my equations and when I plug in the equal value as a solution, it does not recognize it as a correct value even though the inequality symbol shows that it has to be. Mathcad issue.PNG

MJGAnswer
1-Visitor
January 25, 2018

Because of how computers store numbers, Mathcad actually calculates H/L to be 0.19999999999999998.  Since this is slightly under 0.2, the if statement returns "NG".

To alleviate this, uncheck the option "use exact equality for comparisons and truncation" under Tools -> Worksheet Options -> Calculation

4 replies

23-Emerald I
January 25, 2018

Under menu "Tools/Worksheet options," on the calculation tab, uncheck "use exact equality for comparisons and truncation"

Translate
MJG1-VisitorAnswer
1-Visitor
January 25, 2018

Because of how computers store numbers, Mathcad actually calculates H/L to be 0.19999999999999998.  Since this is slightly under 0.2, the if statement returns "NG".

To alleviate this, uncheck the option "use exact equality for comparisons and truncation" under Tools -> Worksheet Options -> Calculation

Translate
jenny291-VisitorAuthor
1-Visitor
January 25, 2018

Thank you for the clarification!

Translate
12-Amethyst
February 4, 2018

Instead of changing worksheet options, another possibility I believe is robust is to avoid the use of specific numeric entries in inequalities. Instead of typing 0.20 in the Ratio program inequality, define a named constant (e.g., RefRatio:=Hhill/Lh) and use RefRatio in the inequality.

 

Lou

Translate