cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

file over modified workspace files

SOLVED
Guest

file over modified workspace files

how do i file over modified workspace files with files from windchill cabinets? add objects? checkout/ with "reuse content" unchecked?  I know I've done this before but I can't seem to get the right combo...

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted

Re: file over modified workspace files

I just did a quick test using the embedded browser inside Creo.  Here's what I found:

(I'm going to do this with text only because uploading dozens of pictures to this forum sucks...)

 

Object is modified locally but has never been uploaded (checked out or not)

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  3. Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
  4. Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  5. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Object is not checked out, modified, and uploaded

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  3. Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
  4. Choose "Edit filter"
  5. Check "Apply to initially selected objects"
  6. Choose OK to close "Edit filter".
  7. Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  8. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Object is checked out, modified, and uploaded

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Undo Check Out" to open the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
  3. Select the object(s) from the wizard.
  4. Choose the "Download" icon to toggle the objects for download.
  5. Choose OK to finish the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
  6. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Note:  This was tested with Creo Parametric 4.0 M060 and Windchill 11.0 M030.

It is possible to set a Windchill preference so "Apply to initially selected objects" is always checked by default.

1 REPLY 1
Highlighted

Re: file over modified workspace files

I just did a quick test using the embedded browser inside Creo.  Here's what I found:

(I'm going to do this with text only because uploading dozens of pictures to this forum sucks...)

 

Object is modified locally but has never been uploaded (checked out or not)

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  3. Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
  4. Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  5. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Object is not checked out, modified, and uploaded

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  3. Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
  4. Choose "Edit filter"
  5. Check "Apply to initially selected objects"
  6. Choose OK to close "Edit filter".
  7. Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
  8. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Object is checked out, modified, and uploaded

  1. Select the object(s) in the workspace
  2. Choose "Undo Check Out" to open the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
  3. Select the object(s) from the wizard.
  4. Choose the "Download" icon to toggle the objects for download.
  5. Choose OK to finish the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
  6. The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.

 

Note:  This was tested with Creo Parametric 4.0 M060 and Windchill 11.0 M030.

It is possible to set a Windchill preference so "Apply to initially selected objects" is always checked by default.