I just did a quick test using the embedded browser inside Creo. Here's what I found:
(I'm going to do this with text only because uploading dozens of pictures to this forum sucks...)
Object is modified locally but has never been uploaded (checked out or not)
- Select the object(s) in the workspace
- Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
- Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
- Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
- The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.
Object is not checked out, modified, and uploaded
- Select the object(s) in the workspace
- Choose "Add" to open the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
- Uncheck "Reuse modified workspace content"
- Choose "Edit filter"
- Check "Apply to initially selected objects"
- Choose OK to close "Edit filter".
- Choose OK to finish the "Add to Workspace" wizard.
- The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.
Object is checked out, modified, and uploaded
- Select the object(s) in the workspace
- Choose "Undo Check Out" to open the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
- Select the object(s) from the wizard.
- Choose the "Download" icon to toggle the objects for download.
- Choose OK to finish the "Undo Check Out" wizard.
- The server version of the object(s) will be added to the workspace.
Note: This was tested with Creo Parametric 4.0 M060 and Windchill 11.0 M030.
It is possible to set a Windchill preference so "Apply to initially selected objects" is always checked by default.