How to prevent reuse of "active" components in Windchill 10.1
Hi all, would appreciate your help or comments, if any, on the scenario below which our design team has encountered with Windchill:
Design A model structure
Finished good1.asm A.1 (Assy)
Model_TEST1.prt A.1 (Comp)
Model_TEST2.prt B.1 (Comp)
Design B model structure
Finished good2.asm A.1
Model_TEST3.prt A.1 (saved as from design A model comp w slight modifications)
Model_TEST4.prt A.1 (saved as from design A model comp w slight modifications)
Latest design
Finished good3.asm A.1
Model_TEST3.prt A.1 (reuse component from design B)
Model_TEST4.prt A.1 (reuse component from design B)
Is there anyway to remind user to reuse the components in Design B and ≠ Design A (i.e. without setting the state of compA to Obsolete)
**However, note that Design A & B are both still “active” in the pdt portfolio.
An analogy would be ptc phasing out older SW but still allowing end users though the new version is available.
Thanks in advance, 
Roger Ng
(Singapore)

