cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - Learn all about PTC Community Badges. Engage with PTC and see how many you can earn! X

How to check in drawings to windchill ?

AThomas104
4-Participant

How to check in drawings to windchill ?

Hello all,

I'm fairly new to windchill. I'd like some help with understanding how to check in drawings from my windchill

workspace to windchill. These drawings use a format available in the local disk. So each time I try to check in these drawings, windchill returns an error message saying "xxx.frm" (the format file of the drawing) is not unique. Can anyone tell me what a workaround is ?

question windchill 2.jpg

question windchill.jpg

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Adding on to @HelesicPetr , what's happening is you are creating a new drawing in a workspace but your config.pro is pointing to a local folder for the default formats. Creo will retrieve this file from that local disk and it will appear new in the workspace. But that same format filename exists in PDMLink which causes the conflict. I would recommend keeping official copy of formats in Windchill. You will have issues with folks working in and out of the system but you can export formats to that same local folder so they retain the Windchill parameters in that file. I think that helps. 

What we did to solve this problem is commit to Windchill where the config.sup points to Windchill exclusively. 

pro_format_dir wtpub://PDMLink/Libraries/Engineering CAD Resources/Formats

This path points to the library where our formats exist. The key to this is all users must use the same "name" for Windchill in their Server Manager. This can be accomplished by scripting the initialization of server connections for the user.  We've had no issues like this since.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4

Hello @AThomas104 ,

There are two possibilities.