cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Community Tip - You can Bookmark boards, posts or articles that you'd like to access again easily! X

What is this object type?

GrahameWard
5-Regular Member

What is this object type?

I am somewhat new to Windchill - well, 2 years - but it seems to be a lifetime study. Can someone tell me what these symbols are? They have the same name as the actual CAD part and when I hover my cursor over the icon it says "Part". You can see in the image 2 rows I selected. They both have the same Name but the little cog thing has no File Name.

Is it connected in any way to the real CAD Part in the row below? It's 6 months older than the CAD Part and a different Revision.

Most importantly, can I delete these things without screwing up anything else? We only use Windchill for CAD at the moment. It's 10.2 I believe.

gward- 2016-04-06 11-30-41.jpg

8 REPLIES 8
BenLoosli
23-Emerald II
(To:GrahameWard)

Have you had any Windchill/PDMLink training?

Those cog wheel items are the WTparts  associated to your EPMdocuments (CAD parts) of the same name.

If your system is configured correctly, they should both be at the same revision level, but may be different iterations.

You can NOT delete them!!!

GrahameWard
5-Regular Member
(To:BenLoosli)

Yes, I had some training. I forgot about the WT Parts thing... our company hired a consulting firm to customize our Windchill setup, which included several days of training. What we had collectively worked out earlier is that we wouldn't use WT Parts. At this point we are only using Windchill for CAD Data. I thought the firm we used had set it up to prevent the WT Parts from appearing. Mostly they don't. It's only some files that have these WT Parts linked to them.

Yes - PLM is absolutely a "lifetime study" as you suggest.

Lots of good info on icons, objects, their meaning and use, etc.  Just have to dig a bit.