Skip to main content
1-Visitor
September 14, 2010
Question

Delete the latest "in work" version

  • September 14, 2010
  • 7 replies
  • 5456 views

Hi everyone

I got an assembly which is in work, with several released parts. The last time I saved my assembly, one of the released parts was saved into an A.1 version. I don't know why proE saved this part, it hasn't been modified.

Is there a way to delete this A.1 version to come back to the A.0 released version ?

Thanks for your answer and your time

7 replies

1-Visitor
September 22, 2010

Also hi to everyone,

This is also an issue for me. Sometimes by accident released components are put "in work". It should be very nice if it's possible to step back to the latest released version.

One possibility for unwanted saving of components in an assembly, is the use of Modelcheck. It looks like Modelcheck modifies parameters after regeneration. Then ProductPoint sees this as a modification and puts the component "in work". Since a couple of weeks I have disabled Modelcheck with the config.pro option "modelcheck_enabled no". I have no proof (yet) that this works, but just wanted to share this with all of you.

Regards,

Cor

5-Regular Member
September 22, 2010

We understand that users often mistakenly make changes to released items and need to revert to the previous released version. Or in some cases you have an In Work model and make a change that you realize was not desireable and you want to return to the previous in work version.

There are a number of configuration options and work approaches that can cause Pro/E to make changes to items that you did not explicitly change. For example, you may modify only an assembly model but when you save the changes you discover that one or more of the assembly constituents were also changed. One customer found that when they set the config.pro option mass_property_calculate to automatic, Pro/E will modify the items in the assembly on save to update the mass properties. If they set mass_property_calculate to by_request, Pro/E does not make the unintended changes.

In Windchill ProductPoint 1.1 M040 (planned for release in mid November), we are planning to introduce an action to Delete Latest Version. This will allow you to easily remove an inadvertent or undesireable change and return to the previous in work or released versioin.

Chris

1-Visitor
September 22, 2010

An action to "Delete latest version" would be very, very, very usefull. It happens more then once over here that an engineer makes a change in a drawing/component that is later on, during a review or so, rejected. The current situation is that the drawing/component becomes "in work". So if you want to release a higher drawing/component you are forced to release something that hasn't been changed. I currently have to solve this to release these drawing/components with a remark that they are "Administrative released". So happy to look forward to that functionality.

By the way, I figured out just before your post, that the "mass_property_calculate automatic" config.pro option could also lead to unwanted saves. I've changed it into "by_request". Also heard from my sales rep that Wildfire M060 has some improvements for this behaviour.

Regards,

Cor