files self-unlocking in workspace
- November 29, 2012
- 1 reply
- 745 views
Seeing an oddity in our Windchill PDMLink 10 M030 workspaces, connected to Pro/E Wildfire 4 M210.
1) Add assembly and associated part models from Commonspace to your workspace
2) Apply a Lock to everything but the assembly (the assembly is whatyou're intending to work on)
3) Check-out the assembly (or rev then checkout depending on your life cycle utilization...)
4) Open the assembly, make some meaningless change and save.
5) assembly saves just fine and is tagged as modified locally, no warnings or anything, but the lock is removed from the components in the assembly.
Now the fact that the components are not checked-out provides some protection fromunintended modification, but that protection isn't absolute. In some situations the software may attempt to save the components and throw the warning to the screen that provides the option for the user to continue, check-out, revise and check-out or make read only (lock)etc the components. Setting the lock initially prevents that and just forces the files to be listed as "skip" in that dialog and the assembly file saves.
Any idea why PDMLink is automatically unlocking components in an assembly when the assembly is saved?Has anyoneelse seen this and have an "it's that way because"explanation?Is there a switch in the software (preferences?) that might control this?
Erik
30nov - added pdf of screenshots illustrating the auto-unlock

