Skip to main content
1-Visitor
November 10, 2014
Solved

Uploading modifications to non-checked out part

  • November 10, 2014
  • 4 replies
  • 4438 views

Hello,

I have WF5 and Intralink 10.2. I have some parts in a workspace that I have modified but are not checked-out. I am trying to upload them to my server-side workspace, but it is not letting me. I get an error that says: "Modifications not eligible for upload". I can only upload after I check-out the part. This is confusing to me because when I search for uploading in the help menu it gives me the following:

Upload is valid for new or modified files. Supported files include those in the following states.

    • Files that are not checked out
    • New objects with a duplicate filename with objects already in the commonspace or in another workspace.

According to this statement, I should be able to upload. What am I missing? This is annoying because I cannot perform a "Save As" unless the part is uploaded and I feel that I should not have to check-out a part to perform a save as.

Please help!

Thanks,

James

Best answer by TomU

Support for this requires Creo 2 or Creo 3 and Windchill 10.2. It does not work with WF5 (CE/P 5).

4 replies

TomU23-Emerald IVAnswer
23-Emerald IV
November 11, 2014

Support for this requires Creo 2 or Creo 3 and Windchill 10.2. It does not work with WF5 (CE/P 5).

23-Emerald IV
November 11, 2014

Workspace save-as happens in the server side workspace. Instead, if the dependencies allow it, do the save-as directly from Creo (Pro/e). It doesn't care where they are as long as it can load them in session.

1-Visitor
November 11, 2014

Thanks for your response. It's too bad I can't do this with WF5.

Unfortuantely, your comment on dependencies make performing a save-as from Creo pretty much obsolete if the part is in an assembly or has a drawing associated with it. Unless there is a way to perform the collection steps from within Creo (if there is, please tell me how).

23-Emerald IV
November 11, 2014

It depends. Doing a save-as from a top level assembly will save all the (non-suppressed) required parts and assemblies, along with their respective drawings. For the drawings to be duplicated, they have to have the same name as their parent model, exist in the workspace, and have the config.pro option "rename_drawings_with_object" set to "both".