Solved
What's the purpose of Upload button in WGM menu?
- September 22, 2012
- 4 replies
- 4367 views
Hello, Tracy,
We consulted our subject matter expert to get a more comprehensive reply to your question (included below). We will also ensure that this information is added to our documentation when it is next updated. I hope this helps!
Jane
Firstly, let’s confirm what we are talking about; presumably the Upload action in the WWGM Workspace “File” menu…
OOTB the native CAD Tool “save” command will only save to local cache – it does not “Upload” to the server side Workspace. In such cases “Upload” allows you to upload Workspace data to the server side workspace without checking in. This gives you the advantages of your data being on the server, but without forcing you to check in before you are ready. Advantages of uploading your work to the server….
a. Servers tend to be more fault tolerant and are backed up on a nightly basis, so in the event of you workstation crashing, becoming infected with a virus etc. resulting in loss of work, your work is safely stored on the server and can be downloaded when your workstation is repaired/replaced.
b. Once uploaded to the server side workspace, your work is accessible from any other workstation with the WWGM installed – e.g. if your company has policy of hot-desking where users may use different machines from day to day, you can simply log on to a different machine each morning and your workspace will be available to you and transparently downloaded as you open in the CAD tool.
There is a preference which can be set to upload on every save, in which case the Upload action is redundant since everything will already be Uploaded as soon as you save it (the reason we do not set this OOTB is there is obviously a performance hit uploading to the server, and to do this on every save can cause performance problems or eat up too bandwidth in companies with low bandwidth environments or working across a WAN). From the sounds of the Tracy’s comments it sounds like this preference might have this set…“when I create a new model and click Save, the event manager will prompt me "Successfully upload model"”.
No account yet? Create an account
Enter your E-mail address. We'll send you an e-mail with instructions to reset your password.